1 August 2016

Nancy Liu - Expat in Copenhagen, Denmark

Nancy Liu - Expat in Copenhagen, Denmark

Q: Where are you originally from?
A: United States

Q: In which city are you currently residing?
A: Just outside of Copenhagen

Q: What do you do in your new city?
A: I am an HR Business Partner for an international company.

Q: How is the quality of life in your new city in comparison to that of your home city?
A: I came from the suburbs of a fairly large city and am enjoying living in the suburbs of Copenhagen. I live a healthier lifestyle in Denmark. I get more exercise, fresh air and organic fruits & vegetables.

Q: How would you rate the healthcare system in which you are currently enrolled?
A: I haven’t had to use it yet. My fiancé is a native Dane and he has had positive experiences.



Q: How does the cost of living compare to that of your home city?
A: The rent is cheaper but food costs are a bit higher.

Q: Did you use a relocation company to help you with your move?
A:  No

Q: How easy or difficult was the relocation process?
A: Easy. I sold nearly everything and came here with just 2 suitcases. My fiancé already had a apartment set up here.

Q: Did you move here with any family members?
A:  I moved to live with my fiancé. I also brought my cat, who I consider to be family. 

Q: What is your favourite mobile app which you use to aid you in your expat life?
A: I don’t use any apps specifically for expats.

Q: What is one piece of advice you’d like to offer a new expat in your new city?
A: Keep a positive attitude and enjoy the new adventure!