Working Holiday Visa


Under a working holiday visa, a tourist may engage into income-generating activities during their visit. This visa is a means of supplementing travel funds and acquiring valuable experience abroad. Gaining employment in a foreign country will help deepen one’s appreciation of new cultures, as well as expand network.

These visas are usually under reciprocal agreements to encourage the transfer of culture, knowledge and business between signatory countries. The features of working holiday visas vary from one country to another. Some limit them to those aged 18 to 30, while others only cover certain types of jobs. The following are the top ten countries that offer this visa type:


Australia issues working holiday visas valid for 12 months, but a holder may only stay with one employer for a maximum of six months. This Australian visa is offered to citizens of 19 countries including Belgium, Canada, Hong Kong, Japan and the UK. Citizens of New Zealand may freely work in Australia for an indefinite period. Check Australia’s immigration website for more details.


This working holiday visa is valid for 12 months and offered to citizens of more than 20 countries. The age limit for applicants from Chile, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy and Switzerland is 18 to 35 years. Applicants from other countries must meet the age limit of 18 to 30 years. Read more about it here.


This type of visa, offered to foreigners aged 18 to 30 years, is valid for 12 months. Citizens of Argentina, Australia, Canada, Japan, New Zealand, South Korea and Taiwan are offered these working holiday visas. Learn more about it in France’s official website.


The Italian government offers working holiday visas to citizens of Australia, New Zealand and Canada. The permit, valid for 12 months, is available to young people aged 18 to 30 years. Check Italy’s official website for details.


The Japanese government offers working holiday visas to certain foreigners aged 18 to 30 years. Irish applicants are imposed an age limit of 18 to 25 years, with exceptions. This visa type to offered to passport holders from Australia, Canada, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Ireland, New Zealand, South Korea, Taiwan, and the UK. See Japan’s official website to learn more. 

The Netherlands

The Dutch government allows foreigners from Australia, Canada and New Zealand to secure working holiday visas, which are valid for 12 months. This working permit is available to applicants aged 18 to 30 years. See details about this program in the country’s official website.

New Zealand

New Zealand issues this visa type, with 12-month validity, to citizens of 36 countries. The age limit is between 18 to 30 years, though it may be issued to those aged 31– 35 years in certain cases. Australians may freely work in New Zealand for an indefinite period. Check New Zealand’s website for more information.


Singapore offers the Work Holiday Programme to some foreign students and recent graduates, aged 18 to 25. The eligible applicants are citizens of the following countries/territories: Australia, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Japan, New Zealand, the UK and the US. The visa is valid for six months. See Singapore’s official website for more details: 


The Thai government allows holders of working holiday visas to seek employment in the country for 12 months. A working holiday visa is available to applicants aged 18 to 30 years from Australia and New Zealand. Read Thailand’s requirements for this visa here: 

United Kingdom

The UK offers working holiday visas, valid for 24 months, to citizens of eight countries and territories including Australia, Canada, Japan, Hong Kong and British territories abroad. Check the UK’s official website for more information.